Another cool workshop testimonial from March ’12 alumni Dwayne DeBardelaben

Dwayne made the trek all the way from Alabama for the March 2012 workshop, and fortunately for everyone, he was not disappointed.

Check out his blog for a more thorough exposition, but in the meantime, it seems like he was particularly struck by the professionalism and intelligence of our esteemed faculty:

The professional for my first and third sessions was Eric Elfman (left).  It would have been worth the cost of the trip and the workshop just for those two sessions alone.  Eric demonstrated an amazing ability to zero in on a problem.  But he went beyond just pointing out difficult areas, he also offered extremely helpful suggestions about how to address the specific problem and the underlying weakness in the future.

The professional for my second and fourth sessions was Laura Rennert, a senior agent with Andrew Brown Literary Agency.  Her insight matched Eric’s in every way.  She had a nurturing way of easing you through the recognition of a problem and suggesting answers.  I found myself listening carefully to every observation she made, trying to understand so I could apply that same insight to my own writing in the future.

I’ll write more in the days ahead about what I learned, who I met, and where to go next.

Pretty cool!!

Leave a Reply

