Another wonderful “success story” from Big Sur Writing Workshop alumn Elle Cosimano, author of “Dead Blue”

The Big Sur Writing Workshop from children’s to young adult fiction, just wrapped up this weekend, and that can only mean one thing: more success stories.

Indeed – in preparation for the next workshop, to be held in early December in Big Sur, we’ll be posting the happy testimonials from alumni who had a wonderful time, and, if your thing, secured a publishing deal with the attendant agents from the esteemed Andrea Brown Literary Agency.

Today’s installment is from Elle Cosimano. Read it below; and in the meantime, check the site often, Like us on Facebook, and join the e-mail list – don’t let the December workshop pass you by!

***
I attended the Big Sur Writing Workshop in December of 2010. I was so nervous the day I read my opening pages out loud. I’d never read my work to anyone (except my mother) and I had no idea what to expect.

I had the rare and wonderful privilege to work with Sarah Zarr on my opening chapters, and Jen Rofe helped me polish my sample query. I came away from the weekend with constructive feedback, a sense of direction, supportive and talented critique partners, and so many new friends.

Two months later, I began querying my book, and signed with one of the industry’s top literary agents. My first novel, DEAD BLUE, recently sold in a two book, six figure pre-empt to Kathy Dawson of Dial/Penguin Books for Young Readers. I couldn’t be happier!

My heartfelt thanks to you and all the staff who made the Big Sur Writers Workshop such a special experience.

Elle Cosimano

Leave a Reply

